Diversification in East and Southern Africa

The CGIAR Initiative on Diversification in East and Southern Africa, also known as Ukama Ustawi, aims to address food and nutrition security risks in the region arising from an overreliance on maize through a climate-resilient, water-secure, and socially inclusive approach.

Ukama Ustawi is a bilingual word derived from Shona and Swahili. In Shona, Ukama refers to partnerships, and in Swahili, Ustawi means well-being and development. Collectively, they represent the initiative’s vision to achieve system-level development through innovative partnerships: Together, we grow and develop.




Where We Work

This Initiative will work in the countries below. Lessons with regional and global relevance will be shared. 

  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Kenya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Rwanda
  • Uganda
  • South Africa
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
Loading data...
Please wait...