CGIAR System Council

Led by a Chair who is appointed by the System Council for a 4-year term, the System Council is comprised of the following voting members and alternates, ex-officio non-voting members, and active observers.

Pursuant to the CGIAR System Framework, all System Council members and Active Observers act in the interests of the CGIAR System.

Every three years, eligible Funders and developing countries* consult and agree upon their constituencies, which may be comprised of one or more governments or organizations. The current allocation of Funders is based on consultations undertaken in 2016.

The rules and procedures governing how each constituency operates are determined by the constituencies themselves.

Download: System Council Composition

Leadership, Ex-officio non-voting members

Chair of the System Council
(Serves for a 4-year term effective from 12 July 2016)
Juergen Voegele
Senior Director, Agriculture, World Bank
Appointed by the System Council for each meeting from amongst its voting members

20 Voting members, July 2016 – June 2021*

CGIAR System Council constituency selection process

*  Based on decision SC/M7/DP4 to extend reconciliation of Funder seating
**Denotes one of the five developing country constituencies of the System Council

No Constituency/Country Member Alternate (optional)
1 African Development Bank Martin Fregene
Director of Agriculture
Ken Johm
Lead Agricultural Economist
2 Australia Andrew Campbell
Chief Executive Officer, Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR)
Mellissa Wood
3 Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Tony Cavalieri
Senior Program Officer, Agriculture Development
Enock Chikava
Deputy Director, Agriculture Development
4 Canada Stephen Potter
Director, Food Security Division, Global Issues and Development Branch, Global Affairs Canada
5 East Asia and Pacific**
(China, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines and Thailand)
CHINA (July 2016-End 2019)
Xifeng Gong
Director of International Cooperation, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS)
INDONESIA (July 2016-End 2019)
Syaiful Anwar
Director of Social Economic Forest Policy and Climate Change Centre, Forestry and Environment Research Development and Innovation Agency
6 European Commission Christophe Larose
Head of Sustainable agriculture sector, DEVCO C1 – European Commission
7 Germany and Belgium Stefan Schmitz
Head of Directorate 12 – Food, Agriculture and Rural Development Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development
Carol Durieux
Attaché, expert agriculture, food security and water, FPS Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation
8 Japan Motoaki Komiya
Deputy Director, Global Issues Cooperation Division, International Cooperation, Bureau, Ministry of Foreign, Affairs of Japan
9 Latin America and Caribbean**
(Brazil, Colombia and Peru)
BRAZIL (2019)
Pedro Luiz Oliveira de Almeida Machado
Coordinator, Embrapa Labex Europe, Brazilian Agriculture Research Corporation Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Food Supply
Jorge Mario Diaz Luengas
Executive Director, Agrosavia, The Colombian Corporation for Agricultural Research
10 Mexico Jorge Rueda Sousa
Minister Counselor of Mexico’s Agricultural Office for Europe / SAGARPA Mission of Mexico to the EU
Miguel Narvaez
Agricultural Counselor for Mexico’s Agricultural Office for Europe / SAGARPA Mission of Mexico to the EU
11 The Netherlands Wijnand van IJssel
Knowledge Policy Coordinator Food Security, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
12 Norway Daniel van Gilst
Senior Adviser, Norad
13 South Asia**
(Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka)
INDIA (July 2016-End 2019)
Dr. T. Mohapatra
Secretary, Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE) & Director General, Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR)
SRI LANKA (Jan. 2018-End 2019)
N.A. Sisira Kumara
Secretary, Ministry of Irrigation and Water Resources Management
BANGLADESH (July 2016-Dec. 2017)
14 Sub-Saharan Africa**
(Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, Sudan and Uganda)
NIGERIA (July 2016-End 2019)

Yarama D. Ndirpaya
Ag. Director Partnership & Linkages Programme, Agricultural Research Council of Nigeria (ARCN)

SUDAN (Jan. 2018- End 2019) 

Adil Omer Salih Abdelrahim
Acting Director General, Agricultural Research Corporation

(July 2016-Dec. 2017)

15 Sweden Eva Ohlsson
Senior Research Advisor, Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency
Philip Chiverton
Senior Consultant to Sida on CGIAR matters, C/O Unit of Research Cooperation, Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency
16 Switzerland Michel Evéquoz
Senior Advisor, Global Program Food Security Swiss Development Cooperation
17 United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland Alan Tollervey
Team Leader, Agriculture Research, Research and Evidence Division DFID
Howard Standen
Climate Change (Resilience and Inclusion) Adviser, DFID
18 United States Robert Bertram
Chief Scientist, Bureau for Food Security, USAID
Eric Witte
Senior International Affairs Specialist, USAID
19 West Asia & North Africa**
(Turkey and Iran; Member and Alternate rotates each 2 years)
IRAN (From 1 July 2018)
Rasoul Zare
Vice President, Agricultural Research, Education & Extension Organization (AREEO)
TURKEY (From 1 July 2018)
H. Gazi Kaya
Director of Agricultural Research
and Policies,
Ministry of Food Agriculture and
Livestock (Note: previously member from July 2016-June 2018)
20 The World Bank Mark Cackler
Practice Manager, Global Practice for Agriculture
Michael Morris
Lead Agriculture Economist

Ex-officio non-voting members

The following 6 System Council seats are additional to the 2 ex-officio non-voting members held by the System Council Chair and the Co-Chair, the latter of whom is appointed by the System Council each meeting from amongst the voting members.
No Organization Member Alternate (optional)
21 Chair of the System Management Board Marco Ferroni
22 Executive Director of the CGIAR System Organization Elwyn Grainger-Jones
Executive Director
23 Representative appointed by the Centers – 1 Nicole Birrell
Convener of the Center Board Chairs
24 Representative appointed by the Centers – 2 Aly Abousabaa
Convener of the Center Directors General
25 Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations Hans Dreyer
Director, Plant Production and Protection Division (AGP)
Selvaraju Ramasamy
Head, Research and Extension Unit
26 International Fund for Agricultural Development Paul Winters
Associate Vice President, Strategy and Knowledge Department
Malu Ndavi
Lead Technical Specialist, Programme Management Department

Active Observers

Active Observers have the right to participate in deliberations of the System Council and to propose agenda items and make presentations for such deliberations. Active Observers do not have the right to vote.
No Organization Member Alternate (optional)
27 Global Forum on Agricultural Research GFAR Chair (or designate)
28 CGIAR Independent Science for Development Council Holger Meinke
ISDC Chair

Invited Guests

Representatives of each of the following are invited to System Council meetings:

  • France, in its capacity as the Host Country of the CGIAR System Organization
  • The Chair of the System Council’s Assurance Oversight Committee
  • The Chair of the Standing Panel on Impact Assessment
  • The Trustee of the CGIAR Trust Fund (the World Bank)