Webinar: Enhancing and measuring Genetic Gain in crop breeding

Share this to :

Date: Wednesday, November 19, 2020
Date and time: November 19, 2020: Mexico, 7-9am / Nairobi, 3-5pm / Hyderabad, 5:30-7:30pm / Manila, 8-10pm

Organized for: NARS breeding programs in E. Africa, other interested breeders

Organized by: CGIAR Excellence in Breeding (EiB), Accelerating Genetic Gains (AGG), along with partners MAIZE, IRRI, CIMMYT, Syngenta

Driving Genetic Gain through selection is at the core of every successful plant breeding program. In this webinar targeting national breeding programs in Africa, EiB will explain the concepts behind genetic gain; introduce tools and approaches to measure genetic gain; provide real examples from a national program in East Africa’.

Tentative agenda:

•Opening remarks from key expert
•Principles of Genetic Gain
•Approaches and tools to measure genetic gain
•East Africa case study
•Q&A (30mins)
•Facilitators/Hosts: Bish Das, EiB. Dan Makumbi, EiB/CIMMYT
Queries: Contact EiB’s Bish Das: B.DAS@cgiar.org

Special thanks: to EiB and AGG project funders including Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the UK Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office, the United States Agency for International Development and the Foundation for Food and Agricultural Research (FFAR), and to our presenters and partners.

Share this to :