The System Council has two Standing Committees as follows:

1. Strategic Impact, Monitoring and Evaluation Committee (SIMEC)

The purpose of the SIMEC is to assist the System Council in review of research program evaluations, oversight the strategic direction of the CGIAR System Organization and the efficiency, effectiveness and impact of CGIAR Research.

The SIMEC is currently comprised of five members, and a maximum of 9 seats, as appointed by the System Council. They are appointed until 30 June 2022, unless earlier determined by the System Council:

No System Council voting constituency Nominated member
1 African Development Bank Dougou Keita
2 Australia Bethany Davies
3 Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation Ruben Echeverria
4 Canada Nikita Eriksen-Hamel
5 Germany and Belgium Raphael Nawrotzki
6 West Asia & North Africa Fatma Sarsu
7 United Kingdom Alan Tollervey (Interim Chair)
8 United States Gary Jahn

The approved terms of reference are available here.

2. Assurance Oversight Committee (AOC)

The purpose of the AOC is to provide the System Council with assurance of the completeness and effectiveness of the Internal Audit Function and the independence of external audit functions, a structured reporting line between internal and external auditors and the System Council and oversight system-wide governance, risk management and internal controls.

The approved Terms of Reference are available here.

The AOC is comprised of up to five members, as appointed by the System Council:

No Member Name Type of Member Term (unless earlier determined by the System Council)
1 Flora Mak System Council Member (Canada) Until June 30, 2023
2 Sarah Schmidt System Council Member (Germany and Belgium) Until June 30, 2023
3 Muriel Uzan Independent Member and interim Chair Until June 30, 2023