

Ex-officio non-voting members			
Chair of the System Council	Juergen Voegele Ph.D Senior Director, Agriculture World Bank		
Co-Chair	Appointed by the System Council for each meeting from amongst its voting members		

Voting members, July 2016 – June 2019

No	Organization/Country		
	20 Voting seats	Member	Alternate (optional)
1	African Development Bank	Dr. Chiji Ojukwu Director of Agriculture	Mr. Ken Johm Lead Agricultural Economist
2	Australia	Mr. Andrew Campbell Chief Executive Officer Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR)	Ms. Mellissa Wood General Manager, Global Programs ACIAR
3	Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation	Member nomination pending	Mr. Tony Cavalieri Ph.D Senior Program Officer, Agriculture Development
4	Canada	Mr. Michel Gagnon Director, Food Security Division Global Issues and Development Branch Global Affairs Canada	Mr. Christophe Kadji Deputy Director, Global Programs and Initiatives Food Security Division Global Issues and Development Branch Global Affairs Canada
5	East Asia and Pacific* (China, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines and Thailand)	CHINA Dr. Feng Dongxin Director of International Cooperation	INDONESIA

CGIAR System Council Composition



		Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS)	
6	European Commission	Mr Bernard Rey Deputy Head of Unit, Unit C1 – Rural Development, Food Security, Nutrition – European Commission, DG International Cooperation and Development	
7	Germany (and Belgium)	Mr. Dr. Stefan Schmitz Head of Directorate 12 – Food, Agriculture and Rural Development Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development	
8	Japan	Ms. Satomi OKAGAKI Senior Deputy Director, Global Issues Cooperation Division, International Cooperation Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan	Ms. Masashi TAKIZWA Deputy Director Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Government of Japan Global Issues Cooperation Division
9	Latin America and Caribbean* (Brazil, Colombia and Peru)	TBC	
10	Mexico	Mr. Jorge Rueda Sousa Minister Counselor of Mexico's Agricultural Office for Europe / SAGARPA	Mr. Miguel Narvaez Agricultural Counselor for Mexico's Agricultural Office for Europe /



		Mission of Mexico to the EU	SAGARPA Mission of Mexico to the EU
11	Netherlands	Mr. Marcellinus Beukeboom Head, Food & Nutrition Security Ministry of Foreign Affairs	Mr. Wijnand van Ijssel Senior Policy Officer Knowledge and Research of the Cluster Food & Nutrition Security
12	Norway	Daniel van Gilst Senior Adviser Norad	
13	South Asia* (Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka)	INDIA	BANGLADESH (July 2016 – December 2017) SRI LANKA (January 2018 – June 2019)
14	Sub-Saharan Africa* (Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, Sudan and Uganda)	NIGERIA Prof. Baba Yusuf Abubakar Executive Secretary Agricultural Research Council of Nigeria	
15	Sweden	Philip Chiverton Associate Professor; Research Secretary Unit of Research Cooperation, Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (Sida)	Renée Ankarfjärd Research Secretary
16	Switzerland	Michel Evéquoz Senior Advisor	

CGIAR System Council Composition



		Global Program Food Security Swiss Development Cooperation	
17	United Kingdom	Alan Tollervey Team Leader Agriculture Research, Research and Evidence Division DFID	
18	United States	Robert Bertram Chief Scientist, Bureau for Food Security USAID	Eric Witte Senior International Affairs Specialist USAID
19	West Asia & North Africa* (Member and Alternate rotates each 2 years)	TURKEY Dr. Nevzat Birişik Director General Ministry of Food, Agriculture and Livestock General Directorate of Agricultural Research and Policies	IRAN Prof. Javad Mozafari Director General, Academic Relations and International Affairs Agricultural Research, Education and Extension Organization
20	World Bank	Mr. Mark Cackler Practice Manager Global Practice for Agriculture	

Ex-officio non-voting members	Alternate (optional)

CGIAR System Council Composition



21	Interim System Management Board Chair	Prof. Dr Martin Kropff	
22	Interim Executive Director of the System Management Organization	Dr. Nick Austin	
23	Center Representative	Ms. Bushra Naz Malik**	
24	Center Representative	Ms. Ann Tutwiler**	
25	FAO	Dr. Ren Wang Assistant Director General	
26	IFAD	Perin Saint Ange Associate Vice President Programme Management Department	

** Interim appointment for 2nd System Council

Active Observers		Alternate (optional)	
27	GFAR	Mr. Juan Lucas Restrepo Ibiza Executive Director of the Colombian Corporation of Agricultural Research (Corpoica)	
28	IEA	Ms. Rachel Sauvinet- Bedouin Head, IEA	
29	ISPC	Prof. Maggie Gill ISPC Chair	